Shop
© Jessica Huter, Brig Simplon Tourismus AG

Church

Simplon village parish church

The Gothic sacrament box in the wall to the right of the high altar and the candlestick from 1568 indicate an earlier church building. The present church was built in 1725. It was consecrated accordingly by the consecration of the three altars at an act of visitation on 21/22 July 1736.


The parish of Simplon is first mentioned in a document dated 1 August 1267. Willermus of Simplon appears as the first parish priest on 20 October 1290 as a witness in an act of donation. St. Gotthard is named as the church patron in a purchase contract of 30 January 1422.

Location

Simplon village parish church
3907 Simplon
Schweiz

Good to know

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Jessica Huter, Brig Simplon Tourismus AG

Kirche

Pfarrkirche Simplon Dorf

Auf einen früher bestehenden Kirchenbau weisen das gotische Sakramentshäuschen in der Mauer rechts vom Hochaltar und der Kerzenleuchter von 1568 hin. Die gegenwärtige Kirche wurde 1725 errichtet.  Sie wurde an einem Visitationsakt vom 21. / 22. Juli 1736 entsprechend durch die Konsekration der drei Altäre geweiht.

Die Pfarrei Simplon wird in einem Dokument vom 1. August 1267 erstmals erwähnt. Als erster Pfarrer tritt Willermus von Simplon am 20. Oktober 1290 als Zeuge in einem Schenkungsakt in Erscheinung. In einem Kaufvertrag vom 30. Januar 1422 wird St. Gotthard als Kirchenpatron genannt.

Standort

Pfarrkirche Simplon Dorf
3907 Simplon
Schweiz

Gut zu wissen

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.